

Annual Working Group Report Form

Year/time period of report: 2024

Name of Working Group: Hypertension and Cardiovascular Risk in Low Resource Settings

Composition of Working Group

Chair Gianfranco Parati Email: <u>gianfranco.parati@unimib.it</u> Year of appointment: 2024

Gianfranco Parati succeeded Pietro Amedeo Modesti in June 2024.

Vice-Chair

Bert-Jan van den Born Email: <u>b.j.vandenborn@amsterdamumc.nl</u> Year of appointment: 2024

Working Group Members

Current number of members: 53

New members approved this year: 1

Dr. Luca Faconti, PhD <u>luca.faconti@kcl.ac.uk</u> Clinical Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacology, King's College London

Activities of the year

Publications

Published this year: -

In preparation:

Contribution to a paper on the ESH Working Groups to be published in Blood Pressure
Hypertension and Cardiovascular Risk Management in Low Resource Settings: barriers to and perspectives for guideline implementation



- How to improve hypertension management in the year 2025
 - Need of a practical approach to implementation of hypertension management guidelines.
 - How to identify high blood pressure and diagnose hypertension in daily practice
 - Applicable approaches to cardiovascular risk assessment in hypertension
 - Targets for treatment and optimal strategies for non-pharmacological and pharmacological management of hypertension in LRS
 - Strategies and technological tools to guarantee long term hypertension control in LRS

Meetings organized/planned this year:

- National Symposium on Hypertension and Cardiovascular risk, Netherlands, endorsed by ESH

Participation to the 2025 ESH Annual Meeting in Milan: WG scientific meeting; Proposal for a workshop in the main congress program:

Symposium at 33rd ESH Congress on "Ethnicity and CV risk in primary care", ESH 2024, Berlin, May 31, 2024

Scientific projects

Completed this year: -

Ongoing: Questionnaire on guideline implementation in low resource settings.

Contribution to educational activities during the World Hypertension Day on May 17, 2025

In planning for next year: -

Educational projects

Completed this year: -

In planning for next year: Lectures/ workshops on 'How to assess cardiovascular risk' in LRS during planned meetings.



Collaborations with other WGs/Scientific Societies:

World Hypertension League/ International Society of Hypertension

Other remarks:

Mission statement of the WG needs to be (re)defined

The WG is seeking closer collaboration with international organizations to propagate joint initiatives in the field of hypertension and cardiovascular risk management

Filled by (full name): Bert-Jan van den Born & Gianfranco Parati

Date: 09/01/2025

Appendix:

Full board composition & list of all current WG members

List of current members

n.	NAME	COUNTR
		Y
	FOUNDERS	
1	Piergiuseppe Agostoni	IT
2	Charles Agyemang	NL
3	Sanjay Basu	USA
4	Athanase Benetos	FR
5	Francesco Cappuccio	UK
6	Robert Kalyesubula	UG
7	Pietro Amedeo Modesti	IT
8	Eoin O'Brien	IE
9	Michael Ochan Kilama	UG
10	Gianfranco Parati	IT
11	Stefano Perlini	IT
12	Eugenio Picano	IT
13	Giuseppe Remuzzi	IT
14	David Stuckler	UK
15	Luca Faconti	UK
16	Dong Zhao	CN
	NUCLEUS MEMBERS	
1	Charles Agyemang	NL

2	Pietro Amedeo Modesti	IT
3	Gianfranco Parati	IT



4	Stefano Perlini	IT
5	Alta Shutte	AU
6	Maria Lorenza Muiesan	I
7	Albertino Damasceno	MZ
8	Bert Jan van den Born	NL
9	Lizzy Brewster	NL
10	Andre Kengne	SA
11	Jarraya Faical	Т
12	Luc M. Van Bortel	BE
13	Dong Zhao	CN

OTHER MEMBERS

	OTHER MEMBERS	
1	Maximilian Pangratius de Courten	AUS
2	Philippe Van de Borne	В
3	Marc Twagirumukiza	BE
4	Sekib Sokolovic	BiH
5	Renata Cifkova	CZ
6	Mohamed Bamoshmoosh	Y
7	Anna Volodina	DE
8	Mustafa Porsch-Oezçueruemez	DE
9	Herbert S. Buscher	DE
10	JB Sørensen	DK
11	Allan Krasnik	DK
12	Marie Nørredam	DK
13	Athanasios J. Manolis	EL
14	J. Guil Sanchez	ES
15	Ghassan Watfa	FR
16	Florin Grigorescu	FR
17	Eliana Ferroni	I
18	Ugo Fedeli	I
19	Gianpaolo Reboldi	I
20	Helen Grech	MT
21	SM Pasha	NL
22	Gert van Montfrans	NL
23	Lars T Fadnes	NO
24	Bernadette Kumar	NO
25	Marek Klocek	PL
26	Alicia Szklarska	PL
27	Michal Tendera	PL
28	Marta Pereira	PT
29	Nebojsa Lalic	RS
30	Louise Bennet	SE
31	Axel C. Carlsson	SE
32	Afsaneh Koochek	SE
33	Töres Theorell	SE
34	Peter Byass	SE
35	Raj Bhopal	UK
36	John Chambers	UK
37	Graham A Hitman	UK



38 Andrew Leather39 Tim Edwin Coldbourn

UK UK